Around the Greens

April 26, 2017

Yarrawonga Bowls Club

While bowlers have come to the end of the summer season of bowling, again this does not mean that anyone will stop bowling over winter as members utilise the all-weather greens right throughout the year and only really bad weather stops the die-hards from bowling.
Bowlers completed the Easter Tournament on Monday, April 17 but due to the deadlines for copy the results were not in last week’s paper, so here are the results of the games played on Easter Monday.
1st Prize went to Eric Scott, 2nd Prize went to Kevin Evans, 3rd Prize went to M. Szabo and 4th Prize went to Neil Hocking. Best last game went to Bobby Jeffcott. Eric Scott also won the raffle.
Well done to all the volunteers who helped make this event a success and thank you to all the sponsors who supported this event and without whom it would not be possible.
Closing Day will be held on April 29 at 1pm and the club is still looking for members to come along to see out the season with a bang. Club Uniform is required and a meal will be provided at the end of the day’s bowling along with the presentation of trophies for the members who participated and won any of the inter-club championship events
On April 30 the club will be holding the Annual General Meeting at 10am and all members are encouraged to attend this meeting.
The results for games played this week; Thursday, April 20,16 players came along to enjoy a game of Twilight Bowls and the winners were Steve Hutchinson and Muzza, the runners up wee Kim Jarden and Rhonda Livingston.
Saturday, April 22, bowlers played a game of triples with 18 plyers attending the day and the winners of the day were Brian Benne4tt, Greg Sharp and J. Daley
Until next week good bowling and good health to all.


The YMGCR AGM was held on April 10 with 60 bowlers present.
Kerry Kinnane was elected the new president with Marcia  McGrillen the new vice president.
Other office bearers elected  were Peter Lidgerwood (Secretary)  Shirley Hummel (Treasurer)  Ray Brown (Publicity Officer)  Daniel  McNeill (General Committee)  Ray Irvine (Greens Director)  Bill Butterworth   (Chairperson of  Men’s Match Committee)  and Cathy Spinks  (Chairperson of Women’s Match Committee).
On behalf of all our members, thank you to all the outgoing office bearers who worked so hard for the club - Marie Whitehead, Jim Conway, Bob Tett, Bill Jenkins. Lorraine Stone, Carolyn Boston and John McGough.
The club also has new selection panels: Midweek – Lorraine Stone, Anne Miles, Mary Essex, John Mc Gough and Darryl Richmond.  Weekend – Ray Brown , Ian Morffew , Wayne Knowles , John Mc Gough  and Darryl Richmond .
Thanks also to the outgoing selectors - Lil Borwick , Judy Wenzel , Rob Hummel  , Greg Green and Keith Eade for all their time and effort over the  last year.
Further good news, next season the club will be getting back the Bowls Program Book (free thanks to the Golf Club) also the new Bowls Website should be up and running in the next week, have a play around with it.
Last Tuesday week  the Open 1B Premiers travelled to Corowa and took on Benalla Open 1A Premiers for the right to represent the O & M in the Victoria Pennant Championship.
Unfortunately they came up short losing 49/73. Kerry Kinnane going down 16/24, Allan Goudge 15/29 and Kay Beare  18/20. Well done for outstanding year.
In other bowls news, the club’s own Anne Miles represented Victoria in the Team Championships in Adelaide. The team finished third behind the strong Queensland, NSW teams.  
Well done Annie (her rink only losing one game for the tournament), well done to Claire Sanders, Rhonda Irvine and Yarrawonga’s  Jan Hermassoo  on winning the Wangaratta Master Triples, only 4 game winner
Wednesday 2 bowls triples had 20 teams. The conditions were perfect and the greens were brilliant.
The winners for the day with 4 wins were the team of P Ware, G Searle and G Lockman from Barooga. Runners up were the local team from Yarrawonga, R Tate, R McKenzie and C Gentle with 3 wins and 35 shots up.
Best game winners were V Brincat,T Durkin, H Smith and W Davison teams.                                                                                                                                     
Social bowls was washed out this week, there will be no social bowls this week due to the Masters.   On Tuesday, May 2 friends from the Belmont Bowls Club will be coming for their annul game and lunch. List will be on the board, so please put name down early so we can work out the catering.
Now that pennant is over members need to support the weekly compositions , so please put your name down and have a fun afternoon, from this Wednesday 3 bowl pairs will be an open event, starting at 12.30pm

ClubMulwala Indoor Bowls

Social bowlong on Thursday, April 20, results; winners with 2 x 2 game wins and 33 points were Judi Cummins (s), Betty Blick and Marita Ryan.
Second with a win and a loss were Reg Bryce (s), Lyn Ryan, Phyllis Novotny and Keith Green with 19 points. It was nice to see Keith bowling again.
More names need to be put down for theOpen Pairs which is to begin on Wednesday 10th May at 7pm.
Pennant - in Round 3 Mulwala 1 (Fay Gash) played Mulwala 3 (Noel Owen) at home.
Some good bowling was played with Mulwala 3 beating Mulwala 1 (24 /15).
Mulwala 2 (Glenyce Willox)went to Wodonga to play Wodonga 2 (Des Britt). It was a game of a team of men playing a team of women. Mulwala 2 won 28/15.
In Round 4 on Thursday, April 27 there will be 2 teams playing at home.
Mulwala 2 (Glenyce) will play Corowa 2 (Jan Webber) and Mulwala 3 (Noel ) will play Wodonga 2 (Des Britt). Mulwala 1 (Fay) will go to Wangaratta to play Wangaratta 1 (Rees Edwards). Come along and give support to the teams.
More in Yarrawonga Chronicle
Login Sign Up

Dummy text