Youngest Pigeons continue winning run

May 31, 2017

Mitch Loughnan gets the handball away in the under 12s.

Coming off a confidence-boosting win against the Raiders, the young Pigeons were primed ready to take on another top four side in the Wodonga Bulldogs at JC Lowe Oval on Sunday.

The boys trained the house down during the week and brought their ‘A’ game ready to play.

From the first siren the boys competed hard all over the ground, dominating in the air and at ground level winning the contested ball.

Fierce tackling pressure by small forwards Jacob Prestage and Darcy Hicks created scoring opportunities, which the boys capitalised on heading into the first break.

Yarrawonga’s relentless attack on the football led by the midfield group of Mac Pendergast, Mitch Loughnan, Xavier Walker and Harry Barker continued.

They won contest after contest resulting in more scoring opportunities for the hard working forwards and Jet Peters and Hunter Frauenfelder took full advantage, extending the lead at half time.

A reshuffle of the team at half time didn’t affect the mindset of the group as the juggernaut continued to roll on - the team playing with arrogance and at times toying with the opposition.

Playing free-flowing, first-option football, the boys showed off their skills to the delight of the large crowd.

Darby Pendergast pinched a great crumbing goal roving the pack and snapping truly.

The last quarter produced more of the same. Hard running and tackling highlighted the team’s intent to bring down another big scalp and continue their winning run.

The highlight of the day was the effort of the deep defenders who withstood a barrage of attack from the Bulldogs early in the last quarter.

Noah Clarke’s bone jarring tackle and the outstretched arm of a desperate Fraser Cummins as he dived on the goal line prevented the Bulldogs from registering their first goal of the game.

From that effort the boys lifted again, took control and ran away with a much deserved win.

Yarrawonga 6-8-48 defeated Wodonga Bulldogs 0-1-1

Goals: Hunter Fraunfelder, Callum DeOleveira, Jet Peters, Mac Pendergast, Darby Pendergast, Nathan Weir.

Awards: Mac Pendergast, Xavier Walker, Harry Barker, Darcy Hicks, Lachie Bosch.

More in Yarrawonga Chronicle
Login Sign Up

Dummy text