27th Bridge Congress held in Yarrawonga

August 03, 2017

David Ware and Kaye Haebich - winners of the Cathy Cummins Best Local Pair prize at the Yarrawonga congress.

Approximately one hundred players from around Victoria and southern New South Wales gathered at the Yarrawonga-Mulwala Golf Club Resort to contest the local club’s hosting of its 27th congress.

Friday night’s pairs winners North-South were Kae French and Tania Gariepy from Melbourne. They had a fair margin over second placed pair Steven White and Jan Rothlisberger, also from Melbourne.
Local players Karen Droop and Glenise Duggan finished a creditable third, less than one point behind second place.
In the East-West field, Christine Parkin and Geoff Johnson nudged out Tom and Jan Hackett to take first place. Alice Murray and Bruce Le Quesne were close behind in third spot.
The eight table event was well supported by local players who filled ten of the sixteen places, a great turn out for the club.
The Saturday Swiss pairs event drew 19 tables but the hands seemed to be fairly ordinary with few long suits and many flat deals.
In the A section, Kae French and Tania Gariepy handled the cards best to finish clear winners of the event. Second place went to Edith Underwood from Wangaratta and her partner Robin Ho. They were closely followed by Tiger Morton and Anne Thomson from Benalla.
Shepparton pair Derek Poulton and Nick Walsh claimed top spot in the B section. They won the prize provided by the Winemakers of Rutherglen.
Second place pair George Wager and daughter Kylie and Christine and Peter Holmes in third place were others of the Benalla crew attending the weekend.
The Cathy Cummins prize for the best local pair went to long-time partners David Ware and Kaye Haebich while the best novice pair was Meredith Londale and Liz White who travelled from Deniliquin for the weekend.
This is the first congress Liz has attended, and she was very pleased with her result.
Sunday’s smaller teams event of 13 tables brought more interesting hands.
Once again the Echuca team of Leigh Carroll, Adam Peirce, Michael McQueen-Thomson and Wayne Leppard forged ahead on the last round to finish ahead of Phil Glover, Bal Krishan, Jan Rava and David Brennan from Wagga.
The Gariepy team (Tania Gariepy, Kae French, Christine Parkin and Geoff Johnson) finished in third place.
Commiserations go to the Prowse team members (Mary Prowse, Richard Harman, John Friesen and Zyg Roberts from Albury/Wodonga) who led for most of the day before being relegated to fourth spot in the last round. They had to be content with winning the best regional prize.
The prize for the best restricted team was won by the Rosenow team (Mark Rosenow, Jenny Ellix, Harry Malsem and Judith Thomson) from Wangaratta.
Convenor Jan Hackett felt the weekend went smoothly and thanked all those involved in the running of the event.
The Yarrawonga Mulwala Golf Club Resort again provided a fantastic venue with a comfortable playing area and generous amounts of fresh and tasty food.
Under the direction of events manager Alicia Leeburn, staff were attentive and looked after all the players’ needs.
Members of the bridge club took key roles with Bob Jeffcott handling the entry fees, Kaye Haebich liaising with the club about the food and others coming to set up the room and to clean up at the end.  
Sponsors provided wonderful prizes and the bridge club would like to thank Winemakers of Rutherglen, Fyffe Field Wines, Rich Glen Olive Oil, Canning ARTS and the Naked Tree for their contributions.
Thanks also to local players Pamela Charles and Alice Murray for their sponsorship.
Martin Willcox of Melbourne once again took charge of the event as director. His laid-back manner and knowledge of the rules and regulation kept everyone on track throughout the weekend.
The club thanks him for his dedication to bridge and his willingness to travel up the highway to run our event.
The club looks forward to hosting the 28th congress next year.

More in Yarrawonga Chronicle
Login Sign Up

Dummy text