Denis awarded Melvin Jones Fellowship

August 31, 2017

‘Turban Mum’ Debbie Van Corler presented certificates of appreciation to Denis Griffith and Gerda Leitermann for their continued support of the Turban Angels project.

New Melvin Jones Fellowship recipient Denis Griffith (centre) with other Lions Club of Yarrawonga fellowship recipients  Jock McDonald, Debbie Van Corler, Phil Oliver and Ollie Tufvesson.

Denis receives his Melvin Jones Fellowship pin from District Governor Norm Walkington.

The Lions Club of Yarrawonga was recently visited by new District Governor Norm Walkington and Lion Lee Walkington.

At the club’s dinner meeting held at Burkes Hotel, District Governor Walkington had the privilege of awarding the highest form of recognition to one of the Yarrawonga members, presenting Denis Griffith with a Mervin Jones Fellowship.
Denis was born in Echuca and joined the Moama Apex in 1981 where he served as Commissariat for 3 years and President 1985 to 1986.
In 1987 Denis transferred to Yarrawonga/Mulwala Apex where he served as treasurer and public speaking and debating Director. Denis retired as a Senior Active Member.
In 2001 Denis joined the Yarrawonga Lions Club where he served as President from 2008 to 2010 during which time he welcomed the club’s first female Lion (Debbie Van Corler) who transferred into the club.
He was Treasurer for 4 years and is currently Lion Tamer and is a Board Member.
During his years in Yarrawonga Denis has been involved in many projects and is always there when needed.
He helped design and construct Lions’ new trailer aptly named ‘The Quazzie’, he was instrumental and managed the recent clubroom renovations and is the resident ‘Turban Tradie’ helping the wonderful Turban Angels when needed.
As well as all that, Denis is very involved with the annual Gala Ball Weekend held in July every year and oversees the club facilities and equipment.
Denis is a very loyal and valuable member of the Yarrawonga Lions Club and in 2016 he was awarded the Chris August Memorial Award.
Denis has now joined four other current recipients from the Yarrawonga Lions Club of the Melvin Jones Fellowship award - Jock McDonald, Debbie Van Corler, Phil Oliver and Ollie Tufvesson.
0n the night Denis was also awarded by ‘Turban Mum’ Debbie Van Corler an appreciation award as ‘Turban Tradie’ and Gerda Leitermann was recognised for her outstanding achievement and continued support to the Turban Project.

More in Yarrawonga Chronicle
Login Sign Up

Dummy text