Taking to the polls on election day

September 13, 2017

Candidate David Horton hands out one of his ‘how to vote’ flyers.

Many residents braved the chilly conditions on Saturday for the early morning rush to vote in the history-making Federation Council election.

A couple of voters told the Yarrawonga Chronicle they were keen to get in early so they could return to their weekend activities.
As they continued to walk on by they were greeted by some council candidates on the footpath in front of Howlong Public School and were given ‘how to vote’ flyers and some chit-chat ensued.
They soon joined the long line of voters that was a constant stream of people all morning.
Not far from the line of voters was a table of delectable treats baked by the Howlong Public School P&C.
Howlong’s Jessica Baggio, 6, may have been too young to vote in the election but she was glad she tagged along after seeing the fine display of cakes and slices, not to mention the toffee apples.
Aimee Erickson, a member of the P&C, said the stall was proving popular with residents in need of something sweet after standing in line waiting their turn to vote.
“It’s all about raising money for the school,” she said.
“We provided parents with a plastic plate and they brought back a cake or slices to sell here today.
“The date and walnut loaf is proving the most popular so far.”
Over at Corowa the line to vote at the public school in Honour Avenue was just as constant as Howlong’s.
A talking point for residents in Corowa during the lead up to election day has been a large ‘how to vote’ banner hanging from a crane parked at several locations around town for the past week.
The banner had been promoting Shaun Whitechurch’s ticket and was in a prominent location out the front of Corowa Public School on election day.
The electoral commission has been left overwhelmed with the large number of pre-poll votes that numbered close to 2000 when pre-polling closed on Friday.
There are 9171 registered voters in the merged local government area.
Voters have been able to follow the vote count online since about 7pm on Saturday via the NSW Electoral Commission’s website.
Late Monday night, the only confirmed election winners to date were Shaun Whitechurch, Pat Bourke and David Longley.
The nine new councillors will be sworn in at a ceremony scheduled for Tuesday, September 19.

More in Yarrawonga Chronicle
Login Sign Up

Dummy text