YFNC 2017 Presentation Night

October 04, 2017

Under 16s netball award winners Indi Frauenfelder, Laura Zanin, Tilly Kennedy and Ellie Robilliard.

Under 18s award winners Macauley Lonergan, Beau Zanin, Isaac McMillan, Ronan Pritchard and Ned Mullins.

B Grade award winners Malory Nankervis and Angie Tyrell.

A Grade netball award winners Abbey Jones, Hannah Symes and Lauren Mulquiney.

Reserves award winners James Elliott and Travis Hargreaves.

Chronicle Award winner Mark Whiley, Best Club People award recipients Chris and Julie Pritchard and winner of the Godfathers Award Lauren Mulquiney.

Seniors Best and Fairest Mark Whiley with Best First Year Player Jake Wild and Best Utility Brayden Coburn.

The Yarrawonga Football Netball Club capped of a brilliant 2017 season with their annual presentation night held at ClubMulwala.

The night celebrated the many achievements of club individuals along with the team success enjoyed in 2017.

MC for the night was three time reserves premiership player Nick Dykes, who kicked off proceedings inviting club legend Malcolm Browning to propose a toast to the club.

This was followed by President Andrew Mott's address in which he announced the first award of the night, the John Dempsey Memorial Award for the Best Club Person which went to Chris and Julie Pritchard.

There were no surprises as Mark Whiley took out the 2017 Chronicle Award, edging out Pigeon star Drew Barnes for the win.

The 2017 Godfathers Award went to Lauren Mulquiney for her outstanding work around the club and especially for her efforts in junior netball.

In the under 18s football, Isaac McMillan took out Best and Fairest honours from runner-up Ronan Pritchard.

Other awards were Most Determined which also went to Ronan Pritchard, Best in Finals Macauley Lonergan, Rising Star Tim Lawrence, Coaches Award Beau Zanin and the Pascoe Ellis Award for Best Clubman went to Ned Mullins.

These awards were followed by the Mint Boutique awards which are voted on by the opposition coaches each week.

In C Grade this went to Jenny Buerckner, B Grade Alisha Leslie and in A Grade it went to gun defender Hannah Symes.

The Under 16 netball awards were a highlight for the night, as all premiership players were called on stage and congratulated by the crowd.

The 2017 Best and Fairest went to young star in the making Tilly Kennedy, who narrowly nudged out runner-up Laura Zanin.

The Coaches Award went to Elly Robilliard and Indi Frauenfelder took out the Best in Finals.

In C grade Jenny Buerckner capped off a stellar season taking out the Best and Fairest from young star Tayla Bogle who was runner-up.

The Coaches Award went to Abbey Hemphill and Zoe Jones was the Best Player in Finals.

In B grade the Best and Fairest was awarded to the brilliant Kylie Leslie, who was dominant all season. Ange Tyrell was recognised for her awesome year finishing runner-up.

The Coaches Award went to Malory Nankervis and Kylie Leslie was the Best Player in Finals.

The Reserves football awards saw coach Richard Handreck present the Coaches Award to the likeable Brett Smith, who was commended for his dedication and persistence after missing out on the 2016 Premiership and working his way back to cement his spot in the 2017 grand final team.

The Best Player in Finals went to rock solid defender James Elliot.

Runner-up Best and Fairest went to the ever-consistent Travis Hargreaves and the 2017 John Brooks Snr Memorial for the Best and Fairest was awarded to James Elliot after an outstanding season.

The premiership-winning A Grade team were next to be congratulated, as all premiership players were called on stage individually by Pigeon Legend Tracy Gillies.

Lauren Mulquiney was awarded the Coaches Award and young gun Abbey Jones was the Best Player in Finals.

The runner-up Best and Fairest and Best on Court in the 2017 Premiership victory was Abbey Jones. The 2017 Tracy Gillies Medal for the A Grade Best and Fairest was awarded to superstar defender Hannah Symes.

In the 2017 Senior Football Awards the Best Player in Finals was Mark Whiley and Jake Wild was named the Best First Year Player.

Brayden Coburn was awarded Best Utility for season 2017 and Pigeon great Scott Oswald was awarded the Jammie Smyth Memorial for the Most Valuable Player.

The runner-up Best and Fairest went to Pigeon veteran Xavier Leslie, who just keeps on keeping on and the 2017 C. Thomas Runnalls Medal for the Best and Fairest, presented by relatives Jaquie Flanagan and Ebony Woodburn, was awarded to Mark Whiley.

Whiley was simply superb all season, polling in all but one game - an incredible achievement.

The celebration brought to an end a successful 2017 season for the Pigeons, with two premierships out of three grand finals and all seven teams featuring in the preliminary finals.

More in Yarrawonga Chronicle
Login Sign Up

Dummy text