Lions celebrate 2017

October 04, 2017

B Grade winners Georgia Glass, Amy Sherlock and Brit Hanley.

C Grade award winners Lisa Weir and Ash McKee.

Reserves award winners Jason Sanderson, Nate Houghton, Chris O’Neill and Jayke Nicholson.

C Reserve winners Tayla McNamara and Aubrey Rodriguez.

Senior football award winners Connor Sanderson, Beau Clarke, Ash Froud, Hamish Hoskings, Jackson Gash and Angus Shand.

A Grade netball award recipients Cara Wood and Lauren Pitches.

Mulwala Football Netball Club celebrated a fantastic 2017 season in style with their annual presentation night held at ClubMulwala.

In front of a huge crowd, the night kicked off with a thrilling C Reserve netball vote count that went down to the last round.

Young gun Tayla McNamara edged out veteran Kim James by 5 votes in what was a popular victory with plenty of vocal support coming from big brother Dylan.

The Coaches Award and third place went to Sally Moon whose class and dedication was a constant throughout the year.

The C grade best and fairest was also a closely fought contest with Lisa Weir emerging victorious with a tremendous back half of the year. Ash McKee was a worthy runner-up with Sam Till not far behind in third.

Continuing the close finishes was the B Grade vote count which kept the crowd waiting right until the last game of the season.

With three votes in the final round, youngster Amy Sherlock took home the best and fairest with Britt Hanley only 5 votes behind in second.

Goal Shooter and stalwart Jade Robinson placed third and paid tribute to coach Cara Wood for her tremendous commitment and dedication.

Capping off the netball awards was the A grade vote count which saw Steph Beams lead right up until the last couple of rounds even though she missed two thirds of the season.

Cara Wood’s versatility ensured she edged clear by 2 votes and claimed a deserving best and fairest.

A popular figure around the club, Cara is the perfect role model for the young group to emulate.

The pocket rocket Lauren Pitches was second with Steph holding on by one vote to finish third.

The Reserves Best and Fairest was won by Chris O’Neill for a consistent season with veteran Jason Sanderson finishing second.

O’Neill paid tribute to the experienced Sanderson for his ability to lead and help coach the team on the field.

Nayte Houghton was awarded for his courage, determination and massive improvement.

The young champion dislocated his shoulder in round 1 but returned to the field because the team was down to only 14 players. He only missed four games with the injury.

Isaac Bond was another to receive plaudits for a great season, playing everywhere from the ruck to full back and full forward.

Lastly Jayke Nicholson was also recognised, described as the most determined player to pull on a Mulwala Jumper this year.

The seniors vote count was easily the most fascinating in recent memory.

Five players went into the last round with a chance to win.

Incredibly it was Ash Froud, the goal kicking superstar who had kicked 112 goals for the year that won with a total of 86 votes.

Second was co-captain Jackson Gash on 82, who had led from the front all year and missed four games with a hamstring injury.

Third was everyone’s favorite friendly giant, Hamish Hosking on 78 votes with centre half forward Beau Clarke tying with the quarterback Damien Cook for fourth on 74 votes.

With Coach Michael Tout signed and enthusiastic for season 2018, the award winners all spoke about their eagerness to return next year ready to take the club to the next level.

Best first year player Angus Shand spoke at lengths about his love for the club and thanked his mum and dad for their ongoing support.

Connor Sanderson was an easy choice for most determined as his level of training and match day attitude are first class.

Beau Clarke was given the Coaches Award, a true leader who has been a great influence on the playing group, not only brining a great set of hands but a culture building set of values.

Mulwala's season will officially come to a close at the AGM to be held at the clubrooms on Monday, October 16 at 7pm.

All interested members, supporters and players are encouraged to come along and have their say.

More in Yarrawonga Chronicle
Login Sign Up

Dummy text