YMBA Basketball Grand Finals

December 06, 2017

Jacob Vella (Coaches Award ), Hayden Cartwright (Most Improved) Baxter Donavan (B/F), Jessie Walker (Runner up B/F).

Ethan Byrne (Most Improved), Harry Nagle (B/F), Jobe Kennedy (Runner up B/F).

Fraser Bennett, Thomas Coffey, Conner Phibbs, Jesse Brogan, Hunter Frauenfelder, Hudson Gillies, Axel Doherty.

Josh McInness, Ben Ratcliffe, Jacob Vella, Max Hemphill, Zac Banch, Henry Lonergan, Max Williams – Coach Matt Lonergan.

Lucy Judd, Ebony Chapman, Rhani Thomson, Chloe Cummins, Laila Prado, Poppy Collins, Bindi Thomson (Coach), Ruby Hawthorne.

Jenna Stevens (Encouragement Award), Sophie Coghill (B/F), Duel Runner up B/F Kira Freeman and Scarlet Mullarvey,

Georgia Phillips, Anna Zannin, Mia Wheaton, Matilda Jaques, Trinny Preer, Mackenzie Clark.

Sienna Mulquiney (Most Improved), Jessica Freeman (B/F), Mikyah Frauenfelder (Runner up B/F), Violet Elliott (Encouragement Award).

Maeve Connell, Ava Loughnan, Gaby Dowling, Piper Poll, Savannah Wallden, Abbey Coghill.

Savannah Wallden (B/F), Lara Langford (Runner up B/F), Aliana Martin (Most Improved)

The Yarrawonga Mulwala Basketball Association finished up the 2017 season with grand finals held in most age groups over the past week.

With the heat soaring, the ECA Centre was abuzz with basketball finals action and all teams rose to the occasion. Spectators were treated to some heart stopping games, with three out of the five games ending with just one point the difference.
The standard of basketball was exceptional with all players contributing to the game and giving their all, in hot conditions. Congratulations to all players on a fantastic season and thank you to all of the YMBA Age Group Managers who helped make the season run smoothly.
A highlight of grand final week was the presentation of Life Membership to club referee Carmel Murray. Carmel is well known in Yarrawonga Mulwala Basketball circles for her years of refereeing high standard basketball games in our domestic competitions. Carmel’s contribution to YMBA stretches back more than 20 years.  Carmel has served on the YMBA committee and been a referee over these years. YMBA are proud to award Carmel with life membership and gratefully acknowledge and appreciate the contribution she has made to the local club. Congratulations and thank you Carmel.
Also receiving awards for their contribution as referees at YMBA this year were Craig Frauenfelder, who received the “Referee of the Year Award 2017” and Kyah Harvey, who received the “Referee Appreciation Award 2017”. Congratulations to Craig and Kyah, who have also been integral in the successful running of our association as referees. Thanks to Elders Yarrawonga and Damien Oliver from North East Mini Digger and Landscaping for sponsoring these awards.
The YMBA Annual General Meeting will be held this Wednesday, December 6 at 7.00pm at the Back of Burkes Hotel. Basketball in Yarrawonga is growing each season and we welcome anyone who has an interest in their child’s basketball to come and have some input into this great club.
Grand final results and season awards:
Under 10 girls. Celtics 14 defeated Gators 13. B&F Sophie Coghill. R/U B&F Scarlett Mullavey & Kiera Freeman. Most Improved Amelia Frazer. Encouragement Award Jenna Stephens.
B Grade girls. Celtics 18 defeated Boomers 17. B&F Jessica Freeman. R/U B&F Mikyah Frauenfelder. Most Improved Sienna Mullavey. Encouragement Award Violet Elliott.
A Grade girls. Bulls 33 defeated Wildcats 25. B&F Savannah Wallden. R/U B&F Lara Langford. Most Improved Eliana Martin. Encouragement Award Tahlia Thomson.
A Reserve Boys. Tigers defeated Wildcats. B&F Harry Nagle. R/U B&F Jobe Kennedy. Most Improved Ethan Byrne. Encouragement Award Jackson Woosnam.
A Grade boys. Clippers defeated Wolves by 3 points. B&F Baxter Droop. R/U B&F Jesse Walker. Most Improved Thomas Loughnan. Encouragement Award Hayden Cartwright

More in Yarrawonga Chronicle
Login Sign Up

Dummy text