$11.7m tourism injection

December 13, 2017

The Yarrawonga Mulwala Multisport Festival continues to evolve as a major event on the Yarrawonga Mulwala Tourism calendar injecting.

Yarrawonga Mulwala Tourism and Business (YMTB) have continued to inject close to $11.7 million into the local economy by attracting, creating and sustaining events over the past year.
Re-elected president Doug Evans confirmed the figure at the Annual General Meeting on November 29 at the visitor information centre.
Mr Evans stated in his report that YMTB invested $131,760 during the year on continuing and new events with the top five events contributing $11.7 million in economic development to the region.
The top five events were the Yarrawonga Mulwala Multisport Festival, Lake Mulwala Rod Run, Country Festival of Tennis and Country Week along with the EC Griffiths Cup.
“The services offered by YMTB have
continued to operate effectively as an information centre, booking office, events coordinator and also the general services previously handled by the Chamber of Commerce.  For this we thank all who have contributed, the board, staff and volunteers, “Mr Evans said.
Yarrawonga Mulwala Tourism (YMT) became Yarrawonga Mulwala Tourism and Business last November after joining with the Yarrawonga Mulwala Chamber of Commerce at its Annual General Meeting.  YMTB was officially signed off at a special meeting on June 28 this year.
Don McPhee delivered a comprehensive treasurer’s report highlighting a $2,372 profit despite Moira Shire contributions being down $25,000 and property rental commission down $10,000 for the year ending 30th June 2017.
Mr McPhee said the absorption of the chamber created a “one-off” gain on acquisition of $21,537 which assisted in the result.
“The value of this organisation to the Yarrawonga Mulwala community is very much reflected in the list of annual financial contributions showing the diversity and scope of events this organisation support,” Mr McPhee said.
“The highlight for the past year is the successful endorsement by Moira Shire of the ‘Service Agreement’ of three years of $225.000 per annum with a three year option up to six years which was also endorsed by the Minister of Local Government.”
Board members elected at the Annual General Meeting by ballot were; Doug Evans, Allan Wright
James McCully, John Charles, Don McPhee, Chanade Seiler, Jennie Donovan, Michelle Clarke, Rosalind Vodusek, Nicole McPherson, Adam O’Connor, Shayne Preer, Travis Smith and Robbie Knowles. The Moira Shire representative will be Tourism Development Officer Louise Munk Klint and the Tourism Ambassador Representative will be Anne Watson. 

More in Yarrawonga Chronicle
Login Sign Up

Dummy text