Club championship time

February 14, 2018

This coming Sunday at 9am the 2017/18 Yarrawonga Lawn Tennis Club Championships will begin.

All members are welcome to participate in the Open Singles or Doubles and for those over 35, there is also separate singles and doubles events.
This year is another chance for any ladies to try and knock off multiple open ladies singles winner Ellen Bruce.
Ellen has been in good form in the Goulburn Murray competition and will again be very hard to beat. After spending all week in Swan Hill playing Country Week, Amy Lairson will be in terrific form and will push Ellen as hard as she can.
Jen Buerckner is also a good chance for the title if she can translate her great doubles form into singles. Another contender is Angelica Morse who has the game to take her into the final.
In the Open Mens the field is wide open.
Any one of a number of men could take the title but last year’s winner, Ronan Pritchard will go in as the favourite.
Ronan’s form has been good and the experience of playing in the Inter-Regional Championships over Christmas has given his game an even harder edge.
Previous winner Grant Chappell is also playing Country Week this week and will return for Sunday’s competition in peak form.
With his big serve and complete all-round game, he will be very hard to beat.
Last year’s runner-up Brady Pritchard will be looking to go one better this year and with all the work he has put in he is also a hot chance.
Other contenders include young gun Liam Pitches, Grant Lewis and the cagey Josh Buerckner.
Any enquiries about the Club Championships call Daryl Bennett on 0408 324 238.

Aggregate Results
The GM2 team had the bye and the GM3 teams match was called off for the heat rule so some players took advantage of the break and joined in the Aggregate competition on Saturday.
The extra players made for three close sections.
In Section 1 last weeks winner Chris Pritchard found the going a bit harder.
He was peppered with fast balls from Mike Lairson, Grant Lewis, Daryl Bennett and particularly Brady Pritchard.
The match of the day was the tie-break between Mike and Brady against Daryl and Grant.
Mike and Brady shot out to a 4-1 lead before Daryl and Grant found their rhythm and fought back to be 4 all.
In the tie-break, Mike and Brady again got to a 4-1 lead and proved too good, taking the win.
The 5 games though were enough for Daryl to get the overall win on the day as this was the only set he dropped.
Amy Lairson was the favourite to take out Section 2 and she didn’t disappoint.
Teaming with Thomas Loughnan, she started with an 8-3 win over Jason Bassett and James Loughnan. Then she stamped her authority over the boys with an 8-1 win with Jason.
It didn’t quite go all Amy’s way though as Jason and Thomas got a hard fought win over Amy and James in a tie-break.
Section 3 was the pick of the Sections as the long rallies went on all day in what was a very close section. The score lines didn’t reflect how close the matches were, but with only 3 games separating the top three at the end of the day it was exciting tennis.
Leia Lewis took the honours winning 2 of her 3 sets, closely followed by Gert Brunner and Julie Pritchard who also won 2 sets each.
New-comer Cara Bott played some great shots and made held her own in the high-quality matches.
The winners this week were:
Section 1: Daryl Bennett 23-12
Section 2: Amy Lairson 23-12
Section 3: Leia Lewis 20 11

More in Yarrawonga Chronicle
Login Sign Up

Dummy text