Inner Wheel’s 40th Birthday

March 21, 2018

District chairman Phyllis Guthrie presenting June Smith with her 30 year service award.

Cutting of the 40th anniversary cake (L to R) June Smith, Phyllis Guthrie, Alice Reid, Jan Sterkenburg, Pat Loughnan, Clare Grant, Elizabeth Barnes and Stasha Barton.

Yarrawonga Mulwala Inner Wheel held their 40th anniversary celebration at the beautiful property of Margaret and John Marchant on Sunday, March 4.

A wonderful lunch was provided as well as a wine raffle and the cutting of a magnificent cake to top the day off.
Present were Clare Grant and Elizabeth Barnes, two charter members, who along with Margaret Sandford and the late Patricia Ward were two of the founding members of the club.
Clare became the inaugural District Governor and her daughter Alison who was in attendance congratulated the friendship and service that has meant so much to her mother’s life.
Also present were members of Albury Inner Wheel who were Yarrawonga Mulwala’s original sponsors in 1978 and chartered by Marjorie Allen.
Inner Wheels District A54 consists of seven clubs, Yenda, Griffiths East, Leeton, Albury, Wagga Wagga, Yarrawonga Mulwala and now Corowa, who Yarrawonga Mulwala are now sponsoring.
June Smith was presented with a 30 year service award by District chairman Phyllis Guthrie.
Past President Alice Reid gave an informative address about the clubs history.
The clubs membership has had spectacular growth in the past few years, having over thirty members at present, with Stasha Barton president for 2017/18.
Yarrawonga Mulwala Inner Wheel has had seven district chairs over the years, the most recent one being Dallice Robins and Rosemary Clark.
The club supports many local charities also Cord Blood Research carefully coordinated by Rosemary Clark and along with other districts one international project is selected each year.
The club aims to promote true friendship, personal service and international understanding.

More in Yarrawonga Chronicle
Login Sign Up

Dummy text