Yarrawonga Mulwala crowned WDCA Premiers

March 28, 2018

A Reserve WDCA Premiers – Back row: Angus Heslin, Gary Browning, Cory Pearn, Sam Lidgerwood, Tom Irvine and Ned Mullins. Front row: Will Sharp, Ben Irvine, Brendan Lewis, Patrick Martin (Captain), Daniel Whykes and Jack Kennedy,

A Grade WDCA Premiers – Back row: Ben Doyle, Corey McIntosh, Matt Casey, James Irvine, Stephen Hicks (Team Manager), John Ferguson and Matt McCabe. Front row: Angus McMillan, Brock McCabe, Ben Welsh, Reid Clarke (Vice Captain), Matt Knight (Captain) and Josh Lawrence.

The Yarrawonga Mulwala Cricket Club A Grade and A-Reserve sides have been crowned the premiers for season 2017/2018 of the Wangaratta and District Cricket Association.

After defeating Beechworth in a rain affected final the A-Grade side caped off a sensational season finishing first on the ladder after the regulation season.
After winning the toss on Saturday, Lakers Captain Matt Knight had no hesitation in batting on the superbly manicured Norm Minns Oval in Wangaratta.
Openers Reid Clarke and Ben Welsh were superb in opening the innings; negotiating a rain delay after an hours play.
After a 60-minute delay for rain, the Lakers continued to play both aggressive and defensive strokes with Welsh playing two majestic strokes for boundaries on both occasions.
With the score on 40 after 23.1 overs, Reid Clarke was dismissed for 16 and Welsh not out on 20.
The umpires called for the ground staff to bring on the covers with rain starting to fall.
This rain delay ended the days play.
Play returned at 12.30pm on Sunday for an early start to make up overs lost on the first day.
But overnight rain and continuing drizzle delayed the start again.
When the skies finally started to clear, the umpires consulted both team captains and at around 3.30pm, Beechworth and the Lakers decided play wouldn’t continue and thus with the Lakers being the higher ranked team; they were declared WDCA Premiers for season 2017/2018.
The premiership gave the Yarrawonga Mulwala Cricket Club A Grade their fourth title in seven years and capped off a great year with the A Reserve team also winning the premiership being first on the ladder.
It was the first senior premiership in long careers for new YMCC players Josh Lawrence and John Ferguson, who along with Angus McMillan, Corey McIntosh, Matt McCabe and Ben Welsh all played in their first A Grade Premiership with Yarrawonga Mulwala.

More in Yarrawonga Chronicle
Login Sign Up

Dummy text