Tungamah to join MFNL

April 05, 2018

Tungamah Football Netball Club along with Shepp East and Katandra will play in the Murray Football Netball League (MFNL) in 2018.

The decision was made last Thursday following a week of intense discussions after the club broke away from the Picola and District Football Netball League (PDFNL).
The last club, Dookie United will join the Kyabram District Football Netball League.
Tungamah Football Netball Club was one of four clubs who had decided to break away from the Picola and District Football League in order to stay affiliated to AFL Goulburn Murray and AFL Victoria.
The remaining 13 clubs, including Rennie are now combined into one Picola league competition with 20 rounds, rather than compete in two geographical divisions as the league has done since 2009.
They, along with the league, will not be affiliated to AFL Goulburn Murray or AFL Victoria after the league rejected a revised affiliation agreement to AFL Goulburn Murray last week.
A new draw has been put together with Waaia, Rennie, Katunga and Katamatite to now combine with the nine clubs previously in the North West division including Jerilderie, Strathmerton, Picola United, Yarroweyah, Berrigan, Tocumwal, Deniliquin Rovers, Blighty and Mathoura. Rennie have the first bye this weekend.
The MFNL season started last weekend and the three new clubs, including Tungamah were all given a bye and will commence their season this Saturday.
AFL Goulburn Murray Region General Manager Martin Gleeson said whilst the initial intent for the four clubs was to remain together finding the best fit for logistics and league structures has resulted in the four clubs splitting across two Leagues in the short term.
The solace for the clubs is that this is a 2018 season arrangement as a further study will be undertaken during the season to determine the best structure for 2019 and beyond.
“The Commission would like to acknowledge both the MFL and the KDFNL for their support of the four clubs and in their willingness over the past week to be accommodating and offer assistance and a place to play football and netball,” he said
“Most importantly, the Commission would like to congratulate the key decision makers within each of the four clubs for their vision, strength of character and leadership in what have been an extremely trying and difficult set of recent circumstances.
“As volunteers, they are the lifeblood of their clubs and the members, players and supporters of the four clubs should be extremely grateful for the courage and commitment that their leaders have shown over the past few months.
MFNL general manager Dale Norman said the league was open to the discussion of the clubs joining.
‘‘They (the four PDFNL clubs) have made the decision they want to be affiliated with AFL Goulburn Murray,’’ Norman said.
 ‘‘It will be a drastic change to the season at a very late stage.’’
Norman said the MFNL had created a draft fixture for the changes which will be ratified at a special general meeting with clubs this Wednesday night.
The first three rounds for the existing Murray FNL clubs do not change. In Round 2 Shepparton East are scheduled to host Tungamah and Katandra has the bye. In round 1 Shepparton East would have had the bye.  Tungamah were scheduled to play Katandra but this game will now be played on the general bye weekend of July 7.

More in Yarrawonga Chronicle
Login Sign Up

Dummy text