2018 Victorian Association Croquet Country Regional Championships

May 09, 2018

Individual winners of the tournament were Anne Quinn, Steven Forster, Mignon Johnston, Elaine Leviston, Gary Shandley, Ian Leviston and Wendy Dickson.

The 2018 Victorian Association Croquet Country Regional Championships were held in Yarrawonga between Monday, April 16 and Wednesday, April 18.

The event is played every year in a different Victorian Country Region on a rotating schedule with Yarrawonga hosting the event in its 55th year on behalf of the North-Eastern District for the first time.
There are nine country regions competing with four players from each region, one from each of four handicap divisions.
Division one was played at the croquet lawns at the Yarrawonga Mulwala Golf Club Resort.
Divisions two, three and four were played at the Yarrawonga Lawn Tennis Club.
Players from all over Victoria commented on the fantastic facilities provided by the Golf Club and the Tennis Club, with the courts in top condition.
This year division one had two current Australian team players.
They were members of the team who played in the USA last year, winning the MacRobertson International Croquet Shield for the first time in 82 years.
This is the premier croquet teams event played between England, USA, NZ and Australia.
Next week the two players, Stephen Forster from Geelong Croquet Association and Malcolm Fletcher from Ballarat District, fly to Queensland to compete in the Trans-Tasman competition against New Zealand.
Yarrawonga Mulwala Golf Club Resort hosted the opening celebration on Sunday night and the event dinner on Tuesday night as well as the Presentation Afternoon on the closing day.
Winners of the team competition was Geelong with runners up being Ballarat.
Individual grades were as follows: Division 1: Stephen Forster (Geelong).
Division 2: Mignon Johnston (Ballarat).
Division 3: Ian Leviston (Ballarat).
Division 4: Elaine Leviston (Ballarat).
Tournament Manager Wendy Dickson and Tournament Referee Anne Quinn are very pleased about the success of the tournament and wish Murray Valley all the best for next year’s event.

More in Yarrawonga Chronicle
Login Sign Up

Dummy text