Williams named Roar’s best and fairest at vote count

By Dylan Arvela

Cobram Roar had its senior and junior vote counts at Cobram Barooga Golf Club on Friday and Saturday night.

First team captain Marius Williams edged out Mitchell Speechley-Price for best-and-fairest for the division one men’s side, while goalkeeper Lachlan McDonald claimed the coach’s and player’s player awards.

Williams had a tremendous season and was pivotal in helping shore up the Roar defence, which at one stage went more than six hours without conceding a goal in the back stretch of the season.

Division two women’s top goal-scorer Jess Gannaway was also named her side’s best-and-fairest, while Anthony Corse capped off an incredible individual season by claiming under-16 best-and-fairest as well as the golden boot in the under-16s, under-18s and division two men.

Sonny Rowe and Logan Stone were the best-and-fairest winners of the flag-winning under-12 and under-13 sides, respectively.

Division one men

Best-and-fairest: Marius Williams (winner); Mitchell Speechley-Price (runner-up)

Top goal-scorer: Mitchell Speechley-Price (32)

Coach’s award: Lachlan McDonald

Player’s player: Lachlan McDonald

Division two men

Best-and-fairest: Marc Startari (winner); Jeff Pauw (runner-up)

Top goal-scorer: Anthony Corso (10)

Coach’s award: Jeff Pauw

Division two women

Best-and-fairest: Jess Gannaway (winner); Geili Rehkli (runner-up)

Top goal-scorer: Jess Gannaway (20)

Coach’s award: Judy Cakebread

Division three men (under-18s)

Best-and-fairest: Joshua Koopman (winner); Cooper Sorrenti (runner-up)

Top goal-scorer: Anthony Corso (17)

Coach’s award: Alex Cakebread


Best-and-fairest: Anthony Corso (winner); Saif Alibraheem (runner-up)

Top goal-scorer: Anthony Corso (25)

Coach’s award: Said Alibreheem


Best-and-fairest: Pongsagon Sulphin (winner); Thomas Corso (runner-up)

Top goal-scorer: Jackson Koopman (18)

Coach’s award: Kaleb Tanner

Under-14 girls

Best-and-fairest: Jenna Mason (winner); Angelina Watt-Fotia (runner-up)

Top goal-scorer: Alexia Corso (9)

Coach’s award: Annie Oliver


Best-and-fairest: Logan Stone (winner); Jake Kalz (runner-up)

Top goal-scorer: Jake Kalz (61)

Coach’s award: Thomas Corso


Best-and-fairest: Sonny Rowe (winner); Sam Hurlston (runner-up)

Top goal-scorer: Sam Hurlston (32)

Coach’s award: Jack Wiles