Division Five continues unbeaten run

By Jamie Lowe

Deniliquin Bowling Club’s Division Five side remains undefeated in the Campaspe Valley Bowls Division competition after a tight win against second placed Moama.

Deni managed two rink wins in the away clash, to record a 46 to 41 overall victory.

Mike Donohue (s), Tony Smith, Clarrie Cameron and Louis Vilella managed to edge out their opponents by two shots.

Final score, Deni 22 to Moama 20.

Alan Hardcastle (s) continued his strong form to lead Jeff Rose, Ian Chessells and Sheena Wubbels to a three shot victory.

Final score, Deni 24 to Moama 21.

Unfortunately that was the only joy for Deni, with all other sides defeated by their Moama counterparts.

Division One suffered a 14 shot loss away from home, 73 to 61.

Shane Laing (s), Peter Chadderton, Stefan Truelsen and Rob Morris were the only shining light for Deni, scoring a five shot win.

Final score, Deni 30 to Moama 25.

Skipper Jamie Shields, David Hessell, Keith Plattfuss and Steve King were beaten by eight shots against a classy Moama quartet.

Final score, Moama 23 to Deni 15.

Linda Harris (s), John Flisher, Lindsay Franklin and Harry Lea were also no match for their opponents in a nine shot loss.

Final score, Moama 25 to Deni 16.

Division Two managed two rink wins, however a heavy loss on the third rink saw Deni defeated by 10 shots overall, 70 to 60.

Lloyd Ritchie (s), Tom Todd, Graham Nisbet and Toni Brooksby were the strongest performing rink on the day, finishing with a 10 shot victory.

Final score, Deni 26 to Moama 16.

Steve O’Brien (s), Lee Hillier, Winnie Pattinson and Danny Stanmore were stuck in a close battle, edging their way in front to win by three shots.

Final score, Deni 26 to Moama 23.

Unfortunately on the remaining rink, Paul Snare (s), Tony Scoullar, Kevin Keane and Bill Young were blown out of the water in a 23 shot defeat.

Final score, Moama 31 to Deni 8.

Deni’s Division Three’s one drawn rink saw them avoid a complete whitewash, suffering an overall loss of 31 shots, 91 to 60.

There was nothing that could split Tony Danckert (s), Lee Pattinson, Tony King and Maxine Norton and their opponents.

Final score, Deni 23 to Moama 23.

Moama were dominant against John Croker (s), Ray Anderson, Col Knuckey and Noel Murray, with Deni defeated by 17 shots.

Final score, Moama 35 to Deni 18.

Russell Douglas (s), David Seymour, Raymond Hay and Andrew Knuckey also struggled in a 14 shot loss.

Final score, Moama 33 to Deni 19.