Establishing a floodplain committee

By Yarrawonga Chronicle

A Corowa, Howlong, Mulwala Floodplain Risk Management Committee comprising at least 10 persons is to be established by Federation Council.

It follows advice on October 29 of a successful council grant application to the State Government for $154,285.71.

“The establishment of a Floodplain Risk Management Committee is the first step in the floodplain risk management process,” Federation Council’s director development and environmental services said at council’s monthly meeting on November 19.

Ms Appleyard will represent council on the committee, as will a councillor from Corowa (Cr Paul Miegel), Howlong (Cr David Longley) and Mulwala (with Crs Bronwyn Thomas and Andrew Kennedy sharing the duties).

Local Environmental Groups will be invited to provide a representative, as will local progress associations/chambers of commerce, NSW Office of Emergency Management, and Department of Planning Industry and Environment.  

Council has a Urana Floodplain Risk Management Committee covering the northern part of the Federation Council area.

“Given that the new study will focus on the townships along the Murray River and that the Urana committee is nearing the end of the process, it is recommended the new committee be established with the focus on representation from the three townships along the Murray River,” Ms Appleyard stated in her report to council. 

The grant for the study preparation is $154,285.71 on a 2 (State): 1 (Council) ratio with project completion due by July 31, 2021.