Pre-polling now open in Nicholls

Landmark: Echuca’s St Mary's Parish Centre, alongside the Anstruther St church (pictured), opened pre-polling on Monday, May 9. Photo by Cath Grey

More than 500 early voting centres are in operation across Australia during a two-week early voting period that started on Monday.

In the Nicholls electorate there are six locations that opened on May 9, among them the St Mary’s Parish Centre at 224-230 Anstruther St in Echuca.

There are two early polling locations in Shepparton, at 318 Wyndham St and 2 Lorraine St, while Cobram Italian Social Club, Seymour’s Masonic Lodge and St Andrew’s Uniting Church Hall in Yarrawonga are the other sites.

At the Echuca site the opening hours are from Monday, May 9 to Friday, May 13, from 8am to 8pm; Saturday, May 14, from 9am to 4pm and from Monday, May 16 to Thursday, May 19, from 8am to 8pm; and finally, Friday, May 20, from 8am to 6pm.

A full list of polling locations for the election on Saturday, May 21, are available on the Australian Electoral Commission website.

The commission is urging voters to plan their vote, with Electoral Commissioner Tom Rogers outlining the range of COVID-19 safety measures in place.

Opening days and hours

On election day, polling places will be open from 8am to 6pm.

COVID safety measures

Dedicated AEC hygiene officers will be regularly sanitising surfaces and pencils at all AEC early voting centres. Social distancing will be in force with equipment spaced out, markers and other signage providing guidance and queue-controlling staff offering support.

AEC staff will be wearing masks and other personal protective equipment as required. Voters do not need to be vaccinated to attend a voting centre and campaign activities (including handing out how-to-vote cards) can occur, in line with local health directions and electoral laws.