Jay Ar’s fourth competition ace

It was all smiles by Jay Ar Martin and his playing partners who included Ken Stevenson after the hole-in-one by Jay Ar.

It was no surprise Yarrawonga Mulwala Golf Club Resort’s 11-time record male club champion Jay Ar Martin had a hole-in-one in last Saturday’s Stableford event.

Martin’s pitching wedge on the Par 3, 17th hole up hill on the Murray Course became his fourth in competition golf and sixth overall.

“I didn’t even see it bounce or go in the hole, and never even got to pull it out of the hole!” the 37-year-old star off a +4 handicap told the Yarrawonga Chronicle.

Martin’s three other competition holes-in-one have been on the Lake Course with a particular liking for the 14th hole, which he has aced twice, and the 7th hole.

He’s had the hole-in-one achievement twice whilst practising, at Yarrawonga Mulwala Golf Club Resort and at Black Bull Golf Club.

Golfers would not be surprised at Martin’s latest achievement. YMGCR head professional Evan Droop said: “I’m not surprised with the amount of high quality golf he plays at Yarrawonga Mulwala Golf Club Resort.”

Martin became the record club champion in 2019, overtaking his and Gary Page’s 10-title club champion total.

YMGCR Nine Holers Golf

Tuesday’s pot round saw 74 players compete for the highly prized monthly drink card and it was Ian Shaw who won the A grade with a fine 29 stroke round.

He won one shot ahead of Phil Gregory who had a sensational round whilst Denis McNelly entered the winners circle again after a long-protracted absence shooting a splendid 26 stroke finish to take B grade honours in front of Dave Dorgan and Gary Savage.

With Covid affecting the numbers on Thursday’s game, only 34 players fronted up and Frank Mundy scored an excellent 22 points in oppressive conditions, fighting the heat, the humidity and the mosquitoes on the course.

Tuesday, January 4 - Stroke – 74 Players.

Blue A Grade

Winner - Ian Shaw (10) 29.

Blue B Grade

Winner - Denis McNelly (16) 26.

Thursday, January 6 – Stableford – 34 Players.

B Grade

Winner - Bill Gorman (13) 21.