Tat Chat | Hill Top golf

By Shepparton News

With 40 points, Trevor Roberts won Saturday’s stableford competition for the Privilege Cup, which is sponsored by Peppermill Shepparton, but, as a visitor he could not claim the privilege of asking members to fill his mug.

He did win the voucher but it was Bruce Gross, runner-up with 39 points, who will be tapping members on the shoulder over the next few weeks.

Roberts, a visitor from Centenary Park, birdied the first two holes and scored 21 points on the front nine off a 14 handicap and 19 on the back was enough to see him home.

Allen Gale won B-grade with 36 points off a 19 handicap and Jacob Chessels was runner-up with 35 on a countback.

Paul Berg won NTP on the third hole (Lewis Homes), Leigh Thornton won on the 14th (A-1 Freight) but Bruce Gross won on the sixth (Tatura Post Office) and the ninth (Tatura Engineering) as well as the jackpot.

Ball run-down: Fred Andrews and Col Saunders 38, Phil Panting 36, John Fanning, Graham McIntosh, Eddie Erftemeyer and Ross Kelly 35, John Bunn, Ryan Lindsay, Paul Berg, Dave Roberts 34, Bill Ashcroft and Terry O’Brien 33.

Yvonne Kartner was in the last group back into the clubhouse on Saturday but brought in 39 stableford points to beat Bec Jeffers on a countback. Chris Coleman had 37 points, Sheryl Curran 36, Jeynelle Wilcox and Robyn Downs 35 to win a ball apiece in the run-down. NTP trophies went to Robyn Downs on the third hole, Sue Turnbull won on the ninth while Bec Jeffers won on the sixth and the 14th.

Olympic Cup: The Olympic Cup was instituted after the 1956 games in Melbourne and has been a major club award since then. Ty Guiney and Travis Worm are the latest winners after they defeated Glenn Newton and Michael Mulcahy 2-1 in the final.

Mid-week: Mark Wursthorn won Tuesday’s stroke competition with a round of 81-15-66 while Lou Villani was runner-up with 88-21-67. Mark also won NTP and consolation balls went to Eddie Erftemeyer and Bob Wildes 71, Steve Whitting, Joe De Ieso and Barry Williams 72.

On a bad-weather day on Thursday, Barry Dennis prevailed with 36 stableford points and Ron Popple was runner-up with 35 on a countback. Peter Hutton won NTP and Garry Reese won a ball for his 35.

Mat Langley Twilight: Travis Worm was the best of the 38 golfers on Thursday, winning with nett 31.5 and Dale Clarke was runner-up with 32. Jono Kerrins won NTP and consolation balls went to Les Walsh and Pat Muller 33.5, Pat Davies 34, Brian Coe 34.5, Joe De Ieso, Alex Howson and Jeff Huddle 35, Lou Villani 35.5, Jarrod Taylor, Glen Pearce and Ryan Lindsay 36.

Coming events: Saturday is February 1 and the stroke competition is for the monthly medal which is sponsored by GMCU.