Lakers announced premiers

By Robert Muir

Unanimous acknowledgment for finishing top of the home and away 2019/20 cricket season has been given with Yarrawonga Mulwala Cricket Club being named the premiers of Wangaratta District Cricket Association (WDCA Kennedy Builders) for the season.

The association decided to award premierships to all clubs on top of their ladders before the finals which never got underway because of the COVID-19 Coronavirus sweeping the world.

“Of course it was the right decision,” Yarrawonga Mulwala Cricket Club president Terry Brear commented to the Yarrawonga Chronicle about the association’s decision unanimously made at a special meeting in Wangaratta last Wednesday, March 25.

“They took the lead of Cricket Australia and the States and awarded the premiership to the home and away series. Premier Cricket in Melbourne followed this precedent.”

First year President of the 125-year-old Wangaratta District Cricket Association Michael Hurley said the association “wasn’t being maverick” in its decision. “I rang Cricket Victoria and all but one association was to do what we were going to,” he told the Yarrawonga Chronicle.

“I believe it’s the first time our association has made this decision with a total lockdown sport situation with the coronavirus. Our committee decision was unanimous.”

Senior Lakers coach Brendan Lewis totally endorsed WDCA’s decision. “We have 30 senior players and the rest are juniors. They’ve given their all for the club and we finished top,” he said.

“The season’s played over 14 rounds and we finished on top and there are enough reasons for us to be deemed premiers.”

The coach said with COVID-19 Coronavirus, there’s a lot more to concern ourselves with, than cricket. “We all have to listen to advice from authorities, and do what they say so we can all be right for next cricket season,” Brendan said. 

Yarrawonga Mulwala Cricket Club has a proud history in the WDCA. Since joining in 2009, the Lakers have won 15 premierships, as tabled below.